SMTP 502 Errors with “Bad Vibes” as the response text

I was trying to send mail from PHP on my local development machine and couldn’t figure out why I kept getting this response in my PHP logs:

(code: 502, response: negative vibes)

Turns out this was because I had Thunderbird open with the WebMail extension. Apparently, it creates some kind of proxy on port 25 that I was connecting to instead of the IIS SMTP service that I thought I was connecting to. I found the explanation of this problem here:

http://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?=&p=41982

Explore posts in the same categories: Servers, SMTP

One Comment on “SMTP 502 Errors with “Bad Vibes” as the response text”

  1. Francisco Says:

    Thanks! you saved my day 😉


Leave a Reply

